It's Only My Opinion

Things I want to tell my kids that won't fit on Twitter

Walking the Camino-What to Pack

I read at least 12 blog posts about what to pack for walking the Camino de Santiago before we left for Spain. Since I had never walked that far before or for that long, I kept adding to my list with every blog post I read. If the next post added something the last post did not, it went on my list. I knew I couldn’t prepare for everything but I would try and put as much as I could in my pack. Do not make this mistake!

Camino de Santiago details

My husband and I started in Leon, Spain on August 21. We had 3 weeks from start to finish. I booked all our sleeping arrangements ahead of time using the links in the book, Hiking the Camino de Santiago by Anna Dintaman and David Landis. Like everyone, we also bought John Brierly’s book but the book by Dintaman and Landis, in my opinion, was so much better from a practical perspective. The Brierly book is not the go-to book it used to be for most pilgrims today. Buy both and read them, but bring the one I recommend with you to Spain. It is worth every ounce.  The other resource I used to find lodging/alburgues was Booking.com. I only choose places on Booking.com that had an 8.5 rating or higher. I read the reviews and then I posted my own after a stay. I can honestly say that we did not have a bad experience in any of the places we stayed.  There was something special about each and everyone one of them! If curious, see the lodging list below. Note: We did choose to stay in private accommodations (our own room with a bathroom). Rates were $35-50 EU per night. Some of the accommodations also had bunk bed type accommodations for $9-11 EU per night. In my opinion, if you want to meet more people and have a community experience, stay in the bunk beds.

What to pack for hiking the Camino de Santiago

In my opinion, it doesn’t matter if you are traveling for 2 weeks, 3 weeks or 6 weeks or dscn0559more, the list is the same. My husband and I created this list after hiking while on the train back to Madrid and the airport back to the States. I had read one blog that suggested taking a luxury item and I liked that idea so I took one. The rest of the items are must have items as far as I am concerned. If you have never walked for more than one week carrying everything you need for day to day living, this is the list. Trust it. Bring less if you want to but don’t bring more.

One more thing

We met a wonderful woman the week before we left who insisted on having dinner with us. She was helpful and interesting and had walked the entire 500 miles by herself a few years before. We believed her advice carried much weight and made all the difference for our Camino experience. This is what she told us, ” This is your F—ing Camino. If you need to take a rest day, take one. If you need to take a taxi take one. If you need to take a bus- do it. This is your Camino.”

Besides this list, that will be the best piece of advice I can, will or should give you.

I am including a link to my public Camino de Santiago list on Amazon. I purchased many items on Amazon and at REI. Try to buy your items from REI within a 12 month time from of the end of your trip. I bought my boots at REI and trained in them all summer. After the first day on the Camino I discovered my boots were too small (walking with 17 pounds and in 94-degree heat proved it ). I purchased a new pair of boots the next day and shipped my too-small boots back to the Kansas City. I was able to return the boots to REI for the full purchase price. I recommend spending the $20 for the REI membership. They keep track of your purchases and you get 10% back on all full price retail purchases at the end of the year, plus many extra benefits. We took our backpacks on the plane. Do not check. Take your hiking poles apart, use zip ties to bind them tightly together at top and bottom and put them in your pack first and then pack around them. (F) is Female only

Backpack- I used an Osprey Tempest 40. My husbanDeuter Dueter ACT Lite 40 + 10
Hiking boots
Tevas- I suggest a style for hiking, showering and evening town clothes
Socks-3 pairs
Ex-Officio underwear- 3 pairs
Shorts- 2 pairs
Pants- convertible to shorts
Ex-Officio Skort (F- evening town clothes)
Dry fit short sleeved shirt- 2
Ex Officio short sleeved button down (evening town clothes)
Ex Officio long sleeved button down (evening town clothes)
Long sleeve 3/4 zip lightweight top (I used Nike)
Dry fit jog bras-2 (F)
Cami bra top (F) – to hike, wear during laundry times, as PJ’s
Spandex shorts (F) – wear during laundry times, as PJ’s
Buff
Full-brimmed hat (necessary for heat of the Meseta)
Packable down jacket
Raincoat
Waterproof, lightweight, backpack cover
Rain pants/gators
Sunglasses
Sunscreen
Headlamp
Nail clipper
Small nail file
Phone for photos and or small camera
Outlet converter- 2 (you will lose one)
travel toothbrush
toothpaste
deodorant
floss
3 in 1 washing bar (shampoo, cream rinse, laundry soap)
Travel razor (F – unless you like hairy legs and armpits. I do not.)
Duct tape around a small pencil
Moleskin – you can buy more compeed in the pharmacy is needed
Medical tape
Small scissors
Neosporin
Cloth bandaids
Gold Bond Friction Defense Stick
8 large diaper pins
4 zip ties to send poles back to U.S.(per person)
Money belt/passport holder
Carbon fiber hiking poles
Camelback Canteen
Lightweight folding back pack Kleenex
Poweraid Single Serve packets
Swimsuit/swim trunks
Ibuprophen (enough for 200-600 mg per day)
Perscription glasses or readers

Sleeping bag (do not need if staying in private rooms)
Towel (do not need if staying in private rooms)

Packing your items we used: (helps organize and slide items in and out of backpack easily)
2 gallon double close zip lock bags
1 gallon double close zip lock bags
Quart size double close zip lock bags

Luxury Item:
Chloe’ perfume (rollerball) I loved wearing perfume after hiking and a shower

You can do without but we did not:
Earplugs
ipod
Camera with NFC Technology

Our Lodging on the Camino de Santiago:

Leon Hostel- Ancha 8, León, León, Spain, 24003
Hotel Rural-Calle Sierra Pambley, 40, 24286 Hospital de Órbigo, León, Spain
Hostel La Senda- Calle Real, 27, 24722 Rabanal del Camino, León, Spain
Hostal el Palacio-19, Molinaseca, 24413, España
Hostel Burbia-C/ Fuente Cubero, 13, 24500 Villafranca del Bierzo, León, León, Spain
Casa de Lucas- Fonfria, 25, Fonfria, Spain, 27671
Pension-Albergue Lemos- Avenida de Castilla 24, Triacastela, España, 27630
Hotel Casa de Díaz- Lugar de Vilachá, 2, Gorolfe, Spain, 27635
Pensión La Estación- Matías López, 106, 2º piso, Sarria, España, 27600
A Fontana de Luxo, Fontedeagra n2 Portomarin, Puertomarin, España, 27170
San Marcos Albugue-Travesía da Igrexa, s/n, 27200 Palas de Rei, Lugo, Spain
Casa Teodora- Calle de Lugo 38 15810 Arzúa, A Coruña, Spain
Pensión Codesal- Calle Codesal, 17, O Pedrouzo, España, 15821
PR Plaza de Galicia- Hórreo, 22 4a planta, Santiago de Compostela, Coruña, A, Spain, 15702
Capitol Boutique Hotel- Concepción Arenal, 7, Santiago de Compostela, Spain, 15702
Hotel Rústico Prado da Viña- Camino Barcia s/n, Fisterra, Spain, 15155
Emperador- Gran Vía, 53, Madrid, 01.Centro, Spain, 28013

If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment. Buen Camino!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Walking the Camino-What to Pack

  1. I WOULD ADD TO MY LIST…

    AMERICAN EXPRESS CARD AND RESERVATIONS EACH NIGHT IN HYATT REGENCY HOTEL…

    OTHER THAN THAT…

    //

    Stephen D. Streiker, Esq.
    steve@streiker.com
    Mobile: 323.252.0277

    From: It’s Only My Opinion
    Reply-To: It’s Only My Opinion
    Date: Saturday, November 19, 2016 at 2:52 PM
    To: Stephen Streiker
    Subject: [New post] Walking the Camino-What to Pack

    Catherine Kolkoski posted: “I read at least 12 blog posts about what to pack for walking the Camino de Santiago. Since I had never walked that far before or for that long, I kept adding to my list with every blog post I read. If the next post added something the last post did not, i”

Leave a Reply

