It's Only My Opinion

Things I want to tell my kids that won't fit on Twitter

Life and Death

How quickly life can change. That concept of time  is fairly foreign to a lot of teenagers. A year for them seems like an eternity. You get to be 40+ and life seem to go by so fast. If you’re at that 40 mile marker, you know what I mean. If you have a child or two or three (or more- you’re a better person than I) you totally get this. I am lucky that I am on my first marriage (OK,  luck has very little to do with that- more on this on a later blog) we have 3 healthy kids (18-16 and 9. The 9 year old was planned- more on this on a later blog) and a fairly decent life. My son has a girl friend whose mother was diagnosed with Leukemia 6 months ago.

She died this morning with her daughter by her side. Can you imagine being 18 years old and present to watch your own mother draw her last breath? I cried on and off all morning. I did not know her mother. I cried because I am a mother and I have a mother. The thought of my children having to watch me breathe my last or even not having my own mother in my life right now- was emotional for me.

My 18 year old son has been a part of this life and death experience. What has this prepared him for? Of course, I  don’t know. But I guarantee that it has prepared him for something. It is my opinion that what ever trials are laid in my lap are there to prepare me for something in my future. For most of us, my/our nature is to help, to assist, and serve one another. We/I long to connect, find a greater purpose and then live and love till the end. Till death.  How quickly life can change.

– For Leigh Angela Vaugn Lentz- Kennedy’s mom

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Life and Death

  1. M.E.W.B. on said:

    Beautifully put on all my Schust….you always had a way with words.

  2. Pam Marttveli on said:

    Very nice Catherine. I share your feelings…as I am sure you are aware.

  3. Thank you. As a cancer survivor you hit all the right notes here. In addition to family I am thankful to a teacher who loved and sheltered my then 7 year old daughter while I went through cancer treatment. Sadly, she later died of her own cancer issues, but her selfless love and support in our time of need will never be forgotten. Certainly your sensitivity and insights about this mother and what it means to be a mother will illuminate your children’s path.

Leave a Reply

